2017 Harlon Hill Nomination Form

Harlon Hill 2016


For IMMEDIATE RELEASE - 1:00 PM (CST) December 16, 2016

CONTACT: JEFF HODGES - (256) 765-4595



FLORENCE, Ala. -- Colorado School of Mines senior quarterback Justin Dvorak has claimed the 2016 Harlon Hill Trophy as the Division II College Football Player of the Year.

Dvorak received 185 total points and held a commanding 72-point margin over Northwest Missouri State University senior quarterback Kyle Zimmerman at 113. University of North Alabama senior quarterback Jacob Tucker finished third at 84.

The award winner is determined in voting by the Division II sports information directors.

Dvorak was on 75 of the 95 total ballots cast.

The Hill Trophy will be presented to Dvorak on Friday, January 6 at a ceremony on the campus of the University of North Alabama, Hill's alma mater.

The Harlon Hill Trophy is sponsored by the City of Florence, Herff Jones, the Marriott Shoals Hotel and Spa and the University of North Alabama. .

Dvorak, a native of Tomball, Texas, powered Division II's top offense in 2016 as the Orediggers (10-3) averaged 566.8 yards per game, winning a share of the Rocky Mounatin Athletic Conference title and advanced to the second round
of the NCAA playoffs. Mines was second in the nation in points per game (47.5) and passing yards per game (359.8).

Dvorak was named the RMAC Offensive Player of the Year in his final season, as well as D2CCA Super Region 4 Offensive Player of the Year. The quarterback led NCAA Division II with 4,584 passing yards and 53 touchdowns, rushing for eight more. His 380.2 total offense yards per game ranks second in D-II and his 172.4 rating is sixth. Dvorak also leads the nation with 366 points responsible for. He enjoyed a record-breaking season as he established the Mines and RMAC career records for passing yards (13,466), total offense yards (14,608), and passing touchdowns (134); the latter mark ranks second all-time in D-II. Dvorak threw for four or more touchdowns 10 times and five or more five times.

Dvorak becomes the second Hill Trophy winner from the Colorado School of Mines, joining 2004 winner Chad Friehauf. He also gives the RMAC its fourth Hill winner in the last 13 years, with Chadron State's Danny Woodhead winning in 2006 and 2007.

Following Dvorak, Zimmerman and Tucker in the voting were Augustana University senior quarterback Trey Heid (47), Grand Valley State University sophomore running back Marty Carter (45), California University, Pennsylvania
senior receiver Garry Brown (35), senior quarterback Jeff Ziemba of Shepherd University (32), senior running back Austin Ekeler of Western State Colorado University (18) and senior quarterback Raleigh Yeldell of Newberry College (9).


ęCopyright 2004; All Rights Reserved
National Harlon Hill Awards Committee
Florence, AL 35361 U.S.A.